the catcher in the rye review.

The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger

20140810-102408-37448403.jpg

Description: Holden Caulfield has been synonymous with “cynical adolescent.” Holden narrates the story of a couple of days in his sixteen-year-old life, just after he’s been expelled from prep school, in a slang that sounds edgy even today and keeps this novel on banned book lists.

20140810-104502-38702490.jpg

Review:

I was supposed to be reading my spin list book, Cannery Row by John Steinbeck, but I was so excited about this book that I ended up reading this instead. I read it during final exam weeks so it took a week or two. (I only read in the mornings before the exams or after I finished them but couldn’t leave the room yet.)

Holden’s singular style of narrating his story kept it very interesting. He has some of the most interesting thoughts and ideas.

I admit that I didn’t get the ‘not wanting his childhood to end’ metaphors until after I finished the book (how was I so thick?) but even then, I realized how important that was. Some of my favorite characters was Holden’s little sister, Phoebe, Holden himself, and his dead brother, Allie. It made me want to write poetry with a green pen on my softball glove.

Although I’ll admit I didn’t like book as much as I thought [that’s what happens when I put my standards for a book way too high], I still thoroughly enjoyed it. There’s something very familiar and sentient and humane about Holden and the side characters.

 

One thought on “the catcher in the rye review.

  1. Pingback: the classics club. | the alternative reader

penny for your thoughts?

