spin list.

The Spin

Here’s what you have to do: choose twenty titles from your classics book list, ( five dreaded, five you can’t wait for, five neutrals, and five free choice books.)

You post the list on your blog or whatever, and every time there is a spin and a number is chosen, you have to read the book under that number. Here is my spin list:

 

Five I Dread

i. Cannery Row by John Steinbeck

ii. The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain

iii. The Adventures of Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain

iv. Measure for Measure by William Shakespeare

v.  The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde

Five I Can’t Wait For

vi. The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger

vii. The Idiot by Fyodor Dostoevsky

viii. The Complete Novels of Franz Kafka (and all other works)

ix. Decameron by Giovanni Boccaccio

x. The Divine Comedy by Dante

Five I Feel Neutral Towards

xi. A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens

xii. The Sun Also Rises by Ernest Hemingway

xiii. The Diary of Anne Frank by Anne Frank

xiv. The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath

xv. Things Fall Apart by Chinua Achebe

Five Free Choice

xvi. Invisible Man by Ralph Ellison

xvii. The Crucible by Arthur Millers

xviii. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë

xix. The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett

xx. And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie

 

If you want to participate in a spin, the next number is announced Monday, May 12th!

~

Oh god, I really hope it’s none from the dread pile….although since I compiled my classics list myself, I didn’t choose any books I really didn’t want to read so the ones I put in the dread pile are only the books I don’t feel like reading right now. I left out a lot of books on the list that I already planned a specific time to read during like: I want to read Dracula during Halloween and A Christmas Carol during Christmas.

4 thoughts on “spin list.

  1. I must say I dreaded The Picture of Dorian Gray before I read it, but it became one of my favourite classics. I just finished The Idiot, which I enjoyed very much and I’m presently reading The Decameron; it’s very long but because it’s broken up into stories, it’s not so intimidating.

    You have a really great list for your spin, so I’m off to check your Classics Club list. Best of luck with your spin!

    Like

    • Yeah, I am actually a little excited to read all my books, and The Picture of Dorian Gray sounds promising. I’ve read into the first ten pages of The Idiot before, (I didn’t continue because I need to be faithfull to The Gold Coffin, which is also amazing), so I know I will love The Idiot because those first ten pages were very captivating. Yes! Decameron is a can’t-wait-to-read too! I really need to hurry so I can get on with all the books I’m itching to read 🙂

      Like

  2. If no. 14 spins up we will be reading The Bell Jar together.
    We need to share a box of tissues (or valium!!) to get through it – good luck!

    Like

  3. Pingback: spin #1 | the alternative reader

penny for your thoughts?

